Einkorn

 
Einkorn

 

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Einkorn and found it extremely informative. The scientific approach to explaining why Einkorn is a good option is brilliant yet not so detailed that you cannot understand the theory. Einkorn illustrates the differences between ancient grains and the genetically modified food sources we have today. The changes from original Einkorn grain to the soft wheat grain we eat today are astounding and scary. It makes you truly question everything we eat now. We have become a society so wrapped up in more stuff, faster and cheaper that we are compromising our health in the process. I want to start cooking like the pioneers had to, back to the basics with food. Of course this takes time, money and patience (none of which I have an abundance of!)

I struggle with Infertility/PCOS and food intolerance/sensitivities. Many attribute food intolerance/sensitivities to causing Infertility/PCOS. I am on a quest for a healthy body and am hoping that dealing with the food intolerances my body will correct the other issues. Living gluten free and dairy free is not for the faint of heart and I struggle more often than not. It is so nice to have another grain option beyond the traditional gluten free flours that pack a pretty high glycemic punch.

Einkorn is filled with sound science, beautiful pictures and illustrations that are enticing and easy to follow instructions with great little tips and tricks for each recipe. I cannot wait to try some of the recipes! I look forward to making the pancakes, pizza, bread, cookies and so on. I am saving up to buy the flours as they are pretty pricey.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

